OpenStreetMap Forum

The Free Wiki World Map

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-06 07:35:07

bearspa
Member
Registered: 2018-06-06
Posts: 3

Problems loading multiple OSM maps onto Basecamp

I'm a noob at this.

I had downloaded a section of tiles in Eastern Europe, and installed the map onto Basecamp using the osm_generic_windows.exe file, and had no problems. I then used Javawa GMTK to rename the map to OSM Eastern Europe, and also gave it a new id, and that seemed to work fine. I was also able to transfer the map from Basecamp onto my Nuvi.

Now, when I try to install another OSM map (for Great Britain) using another osm_generic_windows.exe file, I get an error message saying:

OSM generic Routable is already installed.
Click "OK" to remove the previous version and continue installation, or click "Cancel" to cancel this update.

My question is why I am getting this error message when I have renamed the map to another name.

I do have a folder: C:\garmin\Maps\Worldwide Garmin A Z Routable\OSM generic routable , but that dates back to 2017, and I can't tell exactly what's in it--my guess is that its the world map that comes with Basecamp, and it was there when I installed the Eastern Europe OSM, and did not cause any problems.

What should I do?

Thanks

Offline

#2 2018-06-06 08:21:57

hadw
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02
Posts: 1,081

Re: Problems loading multiple OSM maps onto Basecamp

There are specific sub-forums for Garmin maps questions.

Offline

#3 2018-06-06 13:44:26

OverThere
Member
Registered: 2017-02-28
Posts: 70

Re: Problems loading multiple OSM maps onto Basecamp

The Garmin subforum. The short form of the answer: there more things to change than just the name and family id. I suggest using JaVaWaGMTK to install the maps into BaseCamp using the MacOS variant of the maps and having JaVaWaGMTK fix the problems.

Offline

#4 2018-06-08 02:36:35

bearspa
Member
Registered: 2018-06-06
Posts: 3

Re: Problems loading multiple OSM maps onto Basecamp

OverThere wrote:

The Garmin subforum. The short form of the answer: there more things to change than just the name and family id. I suggest using JaVaWaGMTK to install the maps into BaseCamp using the MacOS variant of the maps and having JaVaWaGMTK fix the problems.

Thanks. I was able to fix it by using the MacOS variant as you had suggested, and using JavaWaGMTK.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB